Now it is important to note that I wrote this blog post prior to the Boston bombings, while Libya was in turmoil.  I had recently become obsessed with reading the New York Times, and stumbled upon an article that shook me to my core.I briefly described the situation in simple terms as follows:

"Some guys in America posted a youtube video that hard core made fun of Muslims. You know how Muslims don’t even like to have pictures or Muhammad? Yeah well these guys made a movie about him having sex with a bunch of chicks and killing people just because he felt like it. Not cool."

This was my very first rhetoric and civic life blog post, which was supposed convey the uses of rhetoric in everyday situations. However, instead I chose to comment on how the absence of rhetoric in this situation heightened the hatred that spurred the revolt and resulted in the death of a US ambassador. 

"Hatred created that video, hatred created the riots, and this hatred ended up killing a man who was only trying to help the people of a country distraught by war. Rhetoric was not used, words were overshadowed by actions. Serious consequences rise from silence."


like how I later commented on how the Libyans should have handled the video situation  First  I talk about how ten years ago this never would have happened because information sharing was not as prevalent at the birth of the internet. However, there is no coming back from this path now. I laugh a little at how I suggested that the Libyan public should have spoken out their opinions instead of killing an innocent man. I don't think the action is funny, only my naivete

I urged my readers to take a moment to honor the man who lost his life serving our country.
Picture
"Please, let us take a moment to honor Chris Stevens, a US ambassador who died trying to make a better world."

The best part of the post, was added in long after if was published. It reads:

"Update: I just read an article about how a woman in Afghanistan suicide bombed a town and killed several South Africans working for America in protest of this video. She was 18."

This ending really sums up the horrible effects of this viral video, as well as the lengths people are willing to go for their beliefs. This tragic conclusion packs the emotional punch needed to discuss such a heavy topic. 

What has the World Come 
to?



Leave a Reply.

    Adelina Richards

    Sophomore studying Security and Risk Analysis at the Pennsylvania State University. 

    Archives

    April 2013

    Categories

    All